Skip to Main Content
Skip to Main Content

Academic Department

Overview

  • The Academic Department supports Adams 14 teachers, staff and parents with curriculum, instruction and assessment to meet the needs of each student. We use a researched-based curriculum that aligns with Colorado Academic Standards and focuses teaching and learning on evidence-based student outcomes.  We engage in best, first instructional practices across contents and grade levels while focusing on the following key questions:
  1. What will students know, understand, and be able to do?
  2. What research-based instructional practices will we use to promote learning?
  3. How will we know when each student has learned it?
  4. What will we do when students have already learned it, or have yet to learn it?


District Vision

  • Through engagement, collaboration, and mutual respect, the parents, teachers, administrators, and community partners of Adams 14 will create the academically rigorous and culturally diverse learning experiences needed to prepare students for success in college, career, and adulthood in safe, performance level schools. 

Goals

  • Our goal is to align curriculum, instruction, assessment, and data systems with student needs and culturally-relevant curriculum and pedagogy.
Leadership
Shelagh Burke

Chief Academic Officer
303-853-3258
saburke@adams14.org


Carrie DeWaters

Director of Academics
cdewaters@adams14.org

Stephanie Redditt

Director of Academics
720-322-8105
sredditt@adams14.org

Ed Tech/STEAM
Maggie Green

PreK-12 Educational Technology Coordinator
mgreen@adams14.org

Mathematics
Matthew Johnson

Director of PK-12 Mathematics
mjjohnson@adams14.org

Science and Social Studies

Laura Leonard

Science and Social Studies Coordinator
lleonard@adams14.org

Literacy
Eileen Harder

Director of Pk - 12 English Language Arts


Anna Cole

ELA Elementary Coordinator
acole@adams14.org

Jan Gilmore

READ Act Coordinator
jgilmore@adams14.org


James Ringer

ELA Secondary Coordinator
jringer@adams14.org

Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education

Danielle Bird

CLDE Support Specialist
dbird@adams14.org


Carrie DeWaters

Director of Academics
cdewaters@adams14.org


Lea Ann Dunklee

CLDE Coach
ldunklee@adams14.org


Kelli Hardwick

CLDE Coach
khardwick@adams14.org


Maria Monica Hurtado de Mendoza

CLDE Coach


Rachael Kummer

CLDE Coordinator
rkummer@adams14.org

Paulina Rodriguez-Cañizares

CLDE Coach


Luz Rossi-Jones

CLDE Coordinator
lrossijones@adams14.org


Elizabeth Westcott

CLDE Coach
eewestco@adams14.org

Assessment
Amy Lovell

Director of Assessment
alovell@adams14.org

Michelle Salgado

Assessment Coordinator
720-322-8145
msalgado@adams14.org

Executive Directors

Dr. Josh Cochran

Executive Principal
jcochran@adams14.org

Dr. Erica Garcia

Executive Director of Elementary Education
erica.garcia@adams14.org

Sam Schneider

Executive Director of Secondary Education
sschneider@adams14.org

Executive Assistant

Vacant

Executive Assistant to Chief Academic Officer
303-853-3244